NLC Announces 2011 Atlanta Fellows


The New Leaders Council, a group which seeks to train the next generation of progressive social entrepreneurs, has announced its 2011 Fellows.

The 2011 Fellows include Michael Brewer, an assistant to State Rep. Alisha Thomas Morgan.  Supporters of NLC have included State Sen. Nan Orrock and City Councilman Kwanza Hall (District 2).

2010 Fellows included GLBT activist Kyle Bailey; Howard Franklin, who has worked on local political campaigns; Kevin Grimes; and Daniel Moskowitz.  2010 was the first year there was an Atlanta chapter; the program began in 2009.

This 2011 list follows:


James Bailey
National Director
Operation HOPE

Jamarr Brown
Political Leadership Trainer
Wellstone Action

Merriah Croston
Health Research Analyst
Northrop Grumman Corporation

Myesha Good
Director of Programs
iDream, Inc.

Rochelle Lindsey
Beyond Service

Lauren O’Brien

Maya Simmons
Alston & Bird LLP

Hasnain Zaidi
Special Projects Manager
Purpose Built Communities

Michael Brewer
Office of State Rep. Alisha T. Morgan

Keisha Carter
Legislative Advisor
Intergovernmental Affairs Div., Office of the County Manager; Fulton County Government

La Tisha Dear
Managing Attorney
Law Offices of La Tisha Dear

Nakia Harris
Director of Health Plan Operations
Amerigroup Community Care

Yamil Little
Director of Communication
Bridge DA Gap

Marc Olsen
Corporate & New Ventures
Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta

Maricarmen Smith-Martinez
Homeowner Selection Manager
Atlanta Habitat for Humanity

Jae Brown
Emergency Response Coordinator
US Centers of Disease Control and Prevention

Greg Clay
Special Assistant to the City Manager
City of East Point, Georgia

Amber English
Graduate Student
Georgia State University

Wade Ivy, III
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Lynita Mitchell-Blackwell
Managing Partner
LMB Law Offices

Kendall Ridley
Socially Conscious Creative
Element K Creative

Justin Tanner
Senior Communications Specialist
City of Atlanta – Office of the Mayor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eight × = 64